My ER visit (SVT)

I went to the ER on Sunday, June 8th around 2 or 2:30 P.M.

What prompted this was my heart “shifted into high gear” and started beating super fast. 


Just a little background, my heart has done this before, but not quite like this.


It had never done this quite this long before and I’d like to think that my heart’s never beat that fast before either. My heart rate got up to 230+! (scary!!!! 60 — 100 = normal) 


So, I had my husband call an ambulance after this had gone too long and nothing I’d tried seemed to “calm it down.” 


In the past laying on my side with my arm outstretched, attempting to control my breathing & trying not to freak out has seemed to help to “calm it down”.


It had been going on for about 15 minutes by the time the paramedics arrived. By the end of it all I’d say it lasted 30 maybe up to 45 minutes. I wasn’t exactly watching the clock so I don’t know for sure. Anyway, they gave me oxygen because I have asthma and when It was at its worst my breathing was a bit labored. They also gave me an IV in addition to running an EKG and attempting to take my blood pressure. This took a few tries because this had dropped due to my heart overworking. 


Just before I was taken to the ambulance my heart rate finally lowered some. I could tell it had done so and felt so much better. My heart was still beating too fast so I continued to the hospital It lowered again to slightly above normal just before arriving. (100 — 115)


At the hospital they made sure to run an EKG. I can’t tell you how important EKG’s are if you’re having a heart rate problem. Also, IF YOU HAVE ASTHMA MAKE SURE TO TELL THEM. I also had a chest X-ray, blood work, blood pressure, all the standard stuff done.

I was asked about my thyroid and I told them that it had been tested in the past and was fine. 

Finally, the doctor came and diagnosed me with SVT which stands for Supraventricular Tachycardia. It’s not too dangerous, it’s just not any fun and it tires you out. My heart rate was a bit concerning though so I was put on a beta-blocker. Beta-blockers block adrenaline which is a stimulant. Speaking of which, I was told to stay away from all stimulants including chocolate!!! I haven’t had a follow up doctor visit yet, but when I do I’m gonna have to ask about that because I love chocolate and don’t want to give it up unless I absolutely have to. So, no caffeine, no chocolate and yes this does include decaf coffee & tea as well. If you didn’t know, things that say decaf still have caffeine. It’s supposed to be very minimal, but it still has it. I have to watch my stress levels as well. Emotions, like if I were to get super upset may set my heart problem off. 


In the past I thought I had mitral valve prolapse, which is a valve problem. I asked about this. I was told that what I went to the ER that day for was caused by SVT, but that didn’t necessarily mean that I don’t also have MVP
Whenever I do get to go to the doctor I’ll see about them ruling MVP out.
SVT is a problem based in the nervous system of the body. This is why the things I was trying at home wouldn’t necessarily help it. Sure staying calm helps any number of things and definitely didn’t hurt to try, but it’s not something that will always work every time. SVT dictates a little bit of a lifestyle and dietary change, but it’s not too bad. I’m just glad it wasn’t any worse.

For more info see the link below to learn more about what I have:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Supraventricular_tachycardia

If you have any questions feel free to ask.
I will continue to update about this in future blog posts.

Thanks for reading 
Till next time~

AHO

This entry was posted in Personal, SupraventricularTachycardia, SVT, Update. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

