Library Haul! From 9/1/11

Hi everyone!

This post is going to detail the stuff I got from the library on Thursday.

I’m also going to recap the stuff I got from the library a few weeks ago. Smile

Let’s get started!

I’m going to start with the stuff I just got on Thursday.

First the manga!

There’s only two volumes that I got and they were:

librarywarsvol.2

librarywarsvol.3

Volumes 2 & 3 of Library Wars!

Library Wars is published under the Shojo Beat imprint from Viz Media.

Next up, are the Japanese language study books that I got.School

First is a very old book from Kodansha International.

It’s titled, “Japanese Kana Workbook.”

It was originally published in 1967, but the copy I have is of the twenty-second printing from 1989.

41UX-yTCo4L._SS500_

Yep, I actually found a pic of it. I was definitely surprised to find it.Open-mouthed smile

Next is from Tuttle.

It’s “The second 100 Japanese Kanji.”

868473369500

And lastly I found an updated version of a book I already own. Smile

You may remember the Barron’s book from my,

What I Use to Study Japanese” post that I made awhile back.

If not, I have provided a convenient link to the post. If you’re interested, check it out!

The book has been re-titled, “Barron’s Learn Japanese the Fast and Fun way.”

51LHlSuYePL._SL500_AA300_

I love most of the changes made to this newer edition.

This version of the book is more like the, “Japanese in 10 Minutes a Day” book.

That book is also in my, “What I use to Study Japanese” post.

What they added was a ton of fun illustrations, more quizzes, crossword puzzles and more.

The only thing I don’t like about this version is that I wished they had either done one of two things:

1: Added some kanji or kana. At least some kana.

or

2: Gone beyond the basics and published another book to cover more of the reading and writing aspects of the language.

That’s all that I got this time.

Now let’s take a look at what I got last time.Winking smile

First the manga! (As always)

First up is volume 1 of “Library Wars.”

librarywarsvol.1

Next is volume 1 of “Bamboo Blade.”

bamboobladevol.1

Lastly, is volume 2 of “HunterxHunter.”

hunterhuntervol.2

As I had said previously on Twitter, I wished they’d had volume 1.Crying face

I don’t think my library has volume 1 though. I never see it there.

For the first time ever I checked out, “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone!” Yep, I have never read any of the Harry Potter books before. I have alternatively seen all the movies except for the final two. I will see those soon though. I’m enjoying the book so far. Smile (I haven’t finished it yet.)Open-mouthed smile

harrypotterandthesorcerersstone

Now for all the Japanese Language books!

First up is story of the “Pied Piper.” This book was completely in Japanese.

(Sorry no pic.)

Next is a book titled, 「学校のはじまり。」or, “Gakkou no hajimari.”

I believe the title translates as, “Beginning of School.”

This book is aimed at fairly young readers. The topics vary greatly, and some of them are: pencil, chair, piano. food & library.

(Sorry no pic.)

Next is a book titled, “A Manual of Japanese Writing.” This book was published by Yale University Press. It’s also volume 2 of a 3 volume series. The 1st volume has lessons and drill sentences in romaji. The 2nd volume has the same material, except there’s no romaji or English. The whole book is in Japanese – including Kanji! The 3rd volume is the reference book of the set. It includes Kanji lists, indexes, and specifics of the Kanji used.

They did not have volumes 1 or 3. I just read about it on the inside of the dust jacket.Smile

(Sorry no pic of this one either.)

Next I got what I think is a very awesome book, “13 Secrets for Speaking Fluent Japanese.” This is published by, Kodansha International.

13secretsforspeakingfluentjapanese

This book has a ton of good exercises and vocab as well. There’s a short manga by, Osamu Tezuka. It’s related to his “Black Jack” series. There’s also another (Unrelated) Original Manga especially created for this book. Quizzes, glossaries, & more. I highly recommend this book.

Next up is the “Introduction to Written Japanese – Hiragana” published by Tuttle. This book is very short and to the point. It also has lot’s of cute pictures as well. It has space to practice writing the kana. They also provide vocab and sentences so you’ll become a little familiar with how the kana is used. Overall I’d say it’s a pretty good little book.Thumbs up

introductiontowrittenjapanesehiragana

Next up is a book called, “Let’s learn Katakana.” It is published by, Kodansha International.

letslearnkatakana

This book also has spaces for you to practice writing the kana. It also has a lot of  good exercises for you. The book also provides a good deal of explanation of Katakana as well. I found this to be quite helpful. This is a great book, I highly recommend it.Thumbs up

The last book that I got was Tuttle’s, “The Kanji Dictionary.” This is the first Kanji Dictionary I’ve ever gotten to use. It’s a little tricky to get used to, I’m even still getting the hang of it.Open-mouthed smile (It’s not the book it’s me. I haven’t had a lot of time to study/read this book so…yeah.) The book does provide clear concise explanations as to how to look up Kanji. This just might be the kanji dictionary I chose to buy later on when I become employed again. That is unless I find a newer updated version in the meantime.

thekanjidictionary-tuttle

That’s all I got. Some of the items have been returned already and some haven’t. I also requested a book while I was there. I recently found out about an author by the name of Jackson Pearce. She writes books for young adults. I was actually really interested in her first book, “As You Wish.” The library didn’t have it though. The only book by her that they did have in their system was, “Sisters Red.” So, I decided I’d give that book a try. Even though I’ve requested it, the book hasn’t arrived at my library yet. I’ll pick it up as soon as it gets there. I’m excited to see if I like “Sisters Red.” “As You Wish” is more my cup of tea because it’s a love story.

I’m also really excited for one of her new books coming up. It’s called, “Fathomless.” The author has stated that it’s a retelling of “The Little Mermaid!” You may or may not know this about me, but I love the Disney version of “The Little Mermaid.” So, I’m really curious about Pearce’s version. It’s supposed to be available sometime next year. (About this time.) So, we’ll see.

I’m excited for a lot of things. I’m sorry I haven’t updated this blog in awhile. I’ve been really busy with school, and trying to become employed again. I hope to be able to update this blog more often in the future, I’m just not sure when that will be. I hope you stick with me though. There will be more to come.

Thank you so much for reading!Red heart

StarAmy/エイミーStar

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Library Haul! From 9/1/11

  1. Eve Redwater says:

    That’s a lot of books! You seem really focused on improving your Japanese; keep up the good work! It’s hard, but worth it.

    Like

    • WhiteCherry5 says:

      Thank you for saying that. It’s true. I have put a lot of focus on my Japanese studies lately. Recently I got a bit frustrated, because I feel like for as long as I’ve studied, I should be at a higher level. Part of my problem has to do with laziness (mostly referring to the past), also I feel that a classroom setting would work a lot better for me . I can’t afford to take classes anywhere at the moment so, I did the only thing I could think of and got more books. It’s working out quite well for me right now. I hope to keep getting better and better. (^-^)b

      Like

      • Eve Redwater says:

        It takes time! It’s a difficult language. In total, I studied it at a classroom level for about 4/5 years, and I’m still not as good as I’d like to be! But, that’s down to various reasons, I’ll be the first to admit I was a bit too lazy with it! However, if you’re prepared to make a serious commitment to it, you’ll be just fine. Remember, it’s not a race; and as long as you’re enjoying it in the process, it’s all good! And hey, if you need to ask for any advice, I might be able to lend a hand!

        Like

  2. linkwheels says:

    I’d have got to check with anyone here. Which isn’t something I usually do! I love to reading a post that will make people think. Furthermore, thanks for making it possible for me so that you can comment!

    Like

Leave a Reply

